Spoiler-free zone. 

Okay, I have to start off with… I LOVED this movie as a kid. I owned the VHS of this movie, and I knew EVERY single word to “Bare Necessities” and “I Wanna Be Like You”. I mean, who doesn’t? It’s a Disney classic! Am I right?

It was definitely weird to see Mowgli as, well… A real person. And the animals (most of the time) looked legit. I mean, they did a pretty good job doing everything. I felt like I was there in the jungle with them, I could almost feel their furs with my bare hands if I reached out enough. The quality of the effects is really good. 

The characters are well done, and you can tell they took their time to bring Bagheera, Baloo, Shere Khan and Kaa to life. Always be aware of Bagheera’s eyes – you see them even in the dark – they’re beautiful light green eyes and they shine when he looks at Mowgli. Also, his accent (British) makes Bagheera (Ben Kingsley) sound more fancy in a way, which gives the character this special style and (classic) sass. Baloo is everyone’s favorite because he’s a fun and lazy bear, he’s super cute. Bill Murray did a great job with his silly bear character, specially when he sung!

The story is indeed a bit different from the original Disney created back in the 90s, but it still sticks to the plot and is engaging. The music oh my god, don’t get me started with that! I loved it. During the dark times when Mowgli had to run for whatever reason it was, I somehow felt anxious and somewhat scared. But also at the most fun times, you’ll get sweet and happy tones delivered straight to your ears. I loved the way this movie was scored.  A+!

I was scared that my dad would fall asleep during the movie, since it started around 9:30pm and he doesn’t really enjoy “children” movies, BUT guess what? He didn’t fall asleep! He said he had liked it, and got scared 2 times. I also got scared 1 or 2 times throughout the movie, but we also laughed – which was great! I enjoy a good laugh every now and then. 

Look out for the cute wolf, Gray. My dad and I loved him! Several animals made me go “awww“, but Gray was just way too cute – even more than Baloo! I want to adopt a dog that looks just like him and name him Gray. Oops!

I am a big Star Wars fan and Lupita is in The Jungle Book as well, so I (of course) heard Maz Kanata’s voice whenever she spoke her lines. It was weird at first, and it reminded me so much of Maz, but you get used to it and it’s the perfect voice for the character. I love Lupita. 

I don’t want to go into too much details, because it is a definitely must watch if you love good graphics, Disney, The Jungle Book, and animals. I recommend it, I really enjoyed it and it is better if you live the experience instead of reading it. So GO WATCH IT!!! 8/10

Leave a comment